A-10 votes in favor of A-10/Mountain West annual challenge

CBS’ Jon Rothstein is reporting this morning the Atlantic 10 has voted in favor of an annual Atlantic 10 versus Mountain West Conference challenge, shortly after the MWV voted to do the same.

The 11-team Mountain West includes Nevada, San Diego State, Fresno State, Boise State, New Mexico, Wyoming, UNLV, Utah State, Colorado State, Air Force and San Jose State.

The MWC sent two teams to last season’s NCAA tournament and one to the NIT.

The Wolf Pack of Nevada advanced to the Sweet 16 this past season and has gone from a 9-22 teams prior to forth-year head coach Eric Musselman’s arrival, to a back-to-back NCAA tournament team that finds themselves ranked seventh nationally in this year’s preseason AP rankings.

San Diego State advanced to last season’s NCAA tournament with Nevada via automatic bid earned through winning the 2018 MWC tournament.

VCU last traveled to a MWC arena back in 2014 when the Rams took on Stephen F. Austin at San Diego State’s Viejas Arena.

A two-time graduate of VCU (School of the Arts '07, Center for Sport Leadership '10), Mat is a co-founder of VCU Ram Nation and a longtime fan as the ...