Top Member
Feb 9, 2009
RICHMOND, Va. – Junior forward Marcus Santos-Silva (Taunton, Mass.) has been named to the initial watch list for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, an award given to the men’s national player of the year, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced on Thursday afternoon.
Known for his strong work ethic and high motor on the floor, Santos-Silva is having a banner year across the board. Through eight games, he is averaging 25.6 minutes, 13.8 points on 62.5 precent shooting, 9.5 rebounds, 1.3 assists, 1.8 steals and 1.3 blocks per game – all of which are career highs.
In January, the USBWA will release a second watch list, followed by finalists after All-America balloting is complete in March. Last season, Duke’s Zion Williamson was the recipient of the Oscar Robertson Trophy.
The 2019-20 Oscar Robertson Trophy will be presented at the NCAA Final Four in Atlanta in April. The winner will be also be honored at the annual...
Continue reading...