20 teams to compete for FCS crown in TX


Elite Member
Feb 10, 2009
The next three Football Championship Subdivision title games have been awarded to Frisco, Texas, the NCAA announced Friday.

The FCS championship games will be held at Pizza Hut Park on Jan. 7, 2011. It will be the culmination of a newly expanded 20-team championship bracket for the division formerly known as I-AA.

Frisco, a burgeoning suburb north of Dallas that emerged from a pool of several cities that submitted bids, is home to FC Dallas of Major League Soccer. The team will co-host the game with the Southland Conference.

"This is a great day for the city of Frisco, Texas," Tom Burnett, commissioner of the Southland Conference, said in a statement. "The strong community, football fan base and dedication to putting on an event that will excite the participants in the championship game is something we are confident we can do. We are thrilled the NCAA feels the same by awarding us with this championship."

The game is moving after a 13-year stay at Finley Stadium in Chattanooga, Tenn.