A former President who loved VCU basketball

Some of you may remember Ed Ackell, President of VCU from 1978 to 1990. In the latest issue of Richmond Magazine, page 17, there is a sad picture of Dr. Ackell as he is suffering from Alzheimer's disease. As a former faculty member, I remember him coming to the faculty cafeteria and joining us for lunch. He loved to talk basketball and always lifted the spirits of everyone around him. I am sure Dr. Hunt can attest to this.

Dr. Ackell was President of VCU while I was a student...I sincerely believed he legitimized VCU as a University..

VCUBeatsduke

I remember him speaking at one of the end of year sports banquets. I think it was 1980. He was a big fan.

Dr. Ackell may have carried the torch, but it was Dr. Warren Brandt who lit it.

Brandt was VCU's first president (after merger), serving 1969-1974. It was during Brandt's administration that the seeds of VCU "big time" basketball were sewed.

On Brandt's watch, Rams' hoops grew from NAIA independent status to NCAA Division I; started moving home games from Franklin Street to Coliseum; and began developing a winner's image that remains to this day. It was Brandt who hired Chuck Noe in 1970, following stunning resignation of Benny Dees.

The 17-story residence hall at 710 W. Franklin - Brandt Hall - is named in honor of VCU's first president.

bighorn said:
Dr. Ackell may have carried the torch, but it was Dr. Warren Brandt who lit it.

Brandt was VCU's first president (after merger), serving 1969-1974. It was during Brandt's administration that the seeds of VCU "big time" basketball were sewed.

On Brandt's watch, Rams' hoops grew from NAIA independent status to NCAA Division I; started moving home games from Franklin Street to Coliseum; and began developing a winner's image that remains to this day. It was Brandt who hired Chuck Noe in 1970, following stunning resignation of Benny Dees.