VCU makes Sweet 16

Are they on crack?

Don't get me wrong, I love VCU. However, most of my gen. ed. classes were ridiculously easy. Upper level courses were tougher, but aren't they supposed to be?

this is friggin nuts.

i too would love to see some data on this. who knows, maybe things have changed in the 8 years since i graduated, but i highly doubt it.

heck, i TRIED to stay longer than 4 years because i was having fun, and still managed to graduate on time.

i graduated with a major in beast light consumption, with some criminal justice classes mixed in. so easy it was almost a joke.

Pavarotti said:
Are they on crack?

Don't get me wrong, I love VCU. However, most of my gen. ed. classes were ridiculously easy. Upper level courses were tougher, but aren't they supposed to be?

I know that in a lot of the undergrad School of the Arts classes... at least on the visual/fine arts side of things... the profs used to be (and maybe still are?) very VERY stingy with the As, and even somewhat hesitant with the B pluses... and since the studio classes were so subjective, there wasn't really any way to argue. The flip side of that is that it was relatively easy to get a B/B-, and you had to actively self-sabotage or abandon a class to get worse than a C (plus studio classes are like labs in that you put in two hours per credit instead of one-to-one). The art history or criticism classes were a bit more classically curved I think. Now in grad school the As were more available, but at the same time the effective studio time to credit hour ratio, while officially still 2-to-1, was really expected to be 4 or 5 to 1... plus they had us teaching the sophomore undergrads, and we TAs were even stingier graders than the profs.